My (tentative) Top 10 Artists

Here’s my list of my top ten artists. Other than the top three, the rest of the list will probably change within the next month. The order, that is. The bands themselves are pretty solid.

1. Queens of the Stone Age

I remember hearing “Little Sister” for the first time when I was in elementary school. The rest is history. Sweet, undying, unfaltering history.

2. Metallica

I don’t really need to explain this one, do I?

3. Coldplay

Coldplay has helped me through some rough times.They make me cry more than any other band. Don’t know if that’s bad or good, but hell, I love ’em.

4. Them Crooked Vultures

I don’t know if this is fair or not because they only have one album so far. But I mean, the band is made of QOTSA’s Josh Homme as vocals/guitar, Led Zeppelin’s bassist John Paul Jones, and Dave Grohl on drums. The album is absolutely incredible. There isn’t a song I don’t love by these guys. 

5. The Tragically Hip

Road Apples is one of my favourite albums of all time. 

6. Led Zeppelin

‘Cause, come on.

7. Black Sabbath

Refer to #6. I don’t want to say how many times I’ve listened to the entire Sabbath Bloody Sabbath album on repeat.

8. Arcade Fire

Refer to #3. They also make me cry uncontrollably. I’m seeing them in August at Rexall, so that should be interesting. 

9. Matthew Good

Also refer to #3. I’ve seen Matt Good three times and each time was absolutely unreal.

10. Our Lady Peace

‘Cause Raine Maida. Also, when Superman’s Dead is on, I lose it. Clumsy is amazing.

I had the worst time of my life making this list. I can’t commit to anything. But yeah, this is what I finally came up with. I was fighting for a spot for The Chili Peppers and Pearl Jam and Muse but in the end, it just didn’t happen. Like I said, this list will probably look different in a few months, except for the top three. Those three have always been the top three and will always be the top three, without question.

What do you think? Who’s in your top ten?

 

All Images Courtesy of Google Images.

12 thoughts on “My (tentative) Top 10 Artists”

  1. Sabbath Bloody Sabbath is hands down my favourite Black Sabbath album. I remember the first time my dad played it for me, it completely changed my view of music.

  2. So I tried to compile a list of my favourite artists… and it is the most random list in the history of lists: Elton John, Against Me, The Gaslight Anthem, The Black Dahlia Murder, Wu Tang Clan, Cancer Bats, Iron Maiden, Elliot Smith, A Tribe Called Quest, The Killers. With blink 182 being number 11. Man. This is hard. And also Pink Floyd. And maybe The Doors. UGH.

    1. I kid you not, when I was just writing down bands for the list, I had Cancer Bats, Pink Floyd, The Doors, and Gaslight Anthem. It’s brutal trying to narrow it down! It’s weird because there are albums in my top ten by artists who aren’t even in my top ten. I don’t know what I’m doing to myself with these top tens. I’m having a near existential crisis. This was a mistake.

  3. It would be tricky. The Beatles, The Doors, Arcade Fire, U2, Depeche Mode, Explosions in the Sky, Moenia, Joy Division, Duran Duran, The Stone Roses, Tycho, Coldplay, Pink Floyd, Aphex Twin, Michael Jackson, Zoe, Queen…

  4. EVH – doesn’t really matter who sings, I am addicted to riffs and nobody does it better than Eddie.
    Tool ~ never fails when all else does
    Led Zep ~ no explanation necessary
    ACDC – best road warrior music ever
    Def Lep – been a fan since High N Dry came out in 1981 (my HS grad year)
    Beatles – ‘free as a bird’ is my anthem
    Pink Floyd – David Gilmour can touch the stars by stretching the strings
    USS – best of the 21st century with honorable mention to Muse and Black Keys
    Simple Minds – New Gold Dream likely was the first ‘trance’ music and took me away on a journey I am not sure I have returned from yet.
    U2 – Even before Zoo TV and 360 kicked my ass, I was a convert after “I will follow” debuted on old Canadian TV show called New Music

  5. P.S.
    I could have substituted ZZ Top for Beatles only because I always turn it up, never tire of Billy Gibbons and the Beatles really just deserved to be on the list for their contribution to my overall musical psyche’ and rhythmic D.N.A.

    I also change this list on a regular basis. The Hip and 54-40 and April Wine and Stabbing Westward and BTO and Bob Marley and Big Wreck and Beck and Boston and ….

    ….I feel your pain.

Leave a Reply

