Movie Soundtracks

Hey, the Oscars are tonight! Let’s talk about movies.

To me, the soundtrack to a movie is almost as important as the content in the movie itself. A story can be compelling, moving, thought-provoking, but the music has the ability to make a movie epic. It has the power to make it iconic and legendary.

The first thing that comes to mind when I think of moving movie soundtracks is obviously Lord of the Rings. The music is iconic, timeless, and makes me cry (but we won’t talk about that). The Lord of the Rings is my favourite trilogy. The score was conducted, produced, orchestrated and composed by Howard Shore. He earned two Academy Awards and two Golden Globes for best score, with good reason; it’s made the movies iconic. Anyone who hears the simple flute for The Shire theme automatically knows what it is.

I mean, how can that not make you cry?

Another given when it comes to iconic, timeless, and instantly recognizable soundtracks is Star Wars. The Empire Strikes Back is on TV downstairs, and I can assure you the music will be stuck in my head for hours. My mom’s unknowingly whistling it while working on her computer, too. Everyone knows the Star Wars theme. I remember teaching myself Darth Vader’s theme on the piano when I was young and thought I was just the coolest person on the planet.

More of my favourites include Inception (never fails to give me chills), Pirates of the Caribbean, The Nightmare Before Christmas, and, God help me, Harry Potter. The iconic Harry Potter music makes me cry (this seems to be a reoccurring theme that I may want to get checked out) because I’ve loved Harry Potter since I was six-years-old and first picked up The Philosopher’s Stone. The music brings me back to when I first saw the movie in theatres. I finally convinced my parents to let me go see it even though it had the word “hell” in it. (I was seven, leave me alone.) The music’s able to bring me back and fill me with an overwhelming and somewhat exhausting sense of nostalgia.

Anything by Hans Zimmer and is a-okay in my books, too. That man is a genius. I have the soundtracks to The Dark Knight and The Dark Knight Rises on my iPod. Bane’s theme, good lord. Goosebumps. I also cried at the very end of The Dark Knight Rises just because the music was so epic. Hans Zimmer made my second favourite trilogy way more epic than it would have been without the music. He’s also responsible for the award-winning scores for Gladiator, Sherlock Holmes, The Lion King, Pirates of the Caribbean, and Inception.

What do you guys think? What’s your favourite movie soundtrack? 

 

All Images Courtesy of Google Images.

5 thoughts on “Movie Soundtracks”

  1. Definitely agree with LOTR for best soundtrack. Anything John Williams is also iconic.

    But my favourite soundtrack aside from LOTR is from The Diving Bell and the Butterfly. Super beautiful. And Little Miss Sunshine is another one of my faves.

  2. Totally agree with you on this, and you’re not crazy — a good score makes me cry, too, ESPECIALLY the one from The Deathly Hallows.
    Music is so important when it comes to creating the mood in a movie or TV show, and bad music can really ruin it for me.

    The Walking Dead always has really great music in it, in my opinion. O Brother Where Art Thou, Garden State, and The Watchmen were all soundtracks that I bought because I liked them so much.

    Oh, and I’m a total sucker for a musical. Have you ever seen the movie Once? Not really a musical, but hands down one of the most amazing soundtracks of all time.

Leave a Reply

